The 9 Fridas – Frida Kahlo in Taipei

Original illustration  for Möbius strip Theatre's new play + "The 9 Fridas ( 九面芙烈達 )" Salt Tse-Ying Chiang (江則穎) http://salt-c-art.com/The-9-Fridas

Original illustration
for Möbius strip Theatre’s new play
+ “The 9 Fridas ( 九面芙烈達 )” Salt Tse-Ying Chiang (江則穎)
http://salt-c-art.com/The-9-Fridas

 

I’m really excited to see the publicity for my performance text ‘the 9 fridas’, to be produced by Mobius Strip Theatre Company for the 2014 Taipei international arts festival. I love the original artwork by Salt Tse-Ying Chiang, commissioned by the company for the production image, and the publicity trailer is beautiful:

http://eng.taipeifestival.org.tw/FilmContent.aspx?ID=421

This process is magical and exciting. A script I wrote, which previously only existed in my head, is now forming slowly into other manifestations, its visuals being shaped and determined by someone else’s imagination (but informed by my script) across in Taiwan.

I wrote a post some time ago about how director Phillip Zarrilli and I sat in an office in Berlin, listening in via skype to the first read-through in Taipei of the translation into Mandarin. The sense of the collaboration germinating was palpable. Now it continues to grow and evolve, taking form. The costume designs and set are taking shape and I can’t wait to get to Taipei later in the Summer to begin the rehearsals…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.