Book Giveaway – Alison Jean Lester’s ‘Lillian on

It was my great pleasure to befriend the terrific Alison Jean Lester at the Singapore Writer’s Festival last November. Sassy, sophisticated, intelligent and filled with joie-de-vivre,  I fell immediately for Lillian, the protagonist in Alison’s first novel Lillian On Life – qualities shared with the author herself.

I was fortunate to read an advance copy of the debut, which is wise, poignant, sexy, and unexpected. It’s been no surprise to learn of its success in the US and elsewhere in the world, and I anticipate a similar positive reaction with its UK publication next month (I gather it has been selected as a Book of the Month by WHSmith – so we’ll be seeing this glorious cover a lot over the summer….).

Alison knows of my involvement in disability arts and culture, and so asked me to help promote her giveaway of three copies of the large print edition to visually impaired readers based in the UK. You can find out how to get your hands on a signed large print copy of Lillian on Life, below. For those interested in reading more about Alison, please see her fantastic answers to my ’20 Questions’ on writing, creativity, life and all on this blog. You can read it here.

Large print cover of 'Lillian on Life' by Alison Jean Lester

Large print cover of ‘Lillian on Life’ by Alison Jean Lester

Alison Jean Lister writes:

I’m very excited about the paperback edition of Lillian on Life coming out in the UK on July 2nd. They’ve created a brand new cover, with endorsements from Karen Joy Fowler (“I completely loved Lillian on Life. What a great voice, what energy and wit.”) and Adele Parks (“A beautifully written, deft debut; edgy, elegant Lillian will stay with you.”) on top of praise from Kate Atkinson and Erica Jong. Pinch me!

I’m equally happy that I’ve just received three copies of the large-print edition, and I’m doing a Twitter campaign to give them away to visually impaired readers. All they need to do is follow me and tweet to me, @A_J_Lester, and I will be in contact by Direct Message to get the winners’ postal addresses. Alternatively, contact me via my website (below), with a few words on why they’d like to read it, and I’ll choose three winners to whom I’ll send a signed copy.

More details on the book are available on my website here: http://www.alisonjeanlester.com/lillian-on-life/.

DEADLINE FOR THE GIVEAWAY: July 10th 2015

Leave a Reply

