To David Cameron: ‘It’s not my impairment which makes me vulnerable. It is your cuts. It is your policies.’

A few days ago I wrote about my monologue being selected for the Equal Writes event in Covent Garden next month: ‘Which women are we not seeing represented on stage?’  Walkie Talkies is about a disabled woman arguing for independent living and against institutionalisation.  Today I get an email from Sophie Partridge, a friend and terrific performer who it has been my great fortune to have worked with in the past, and the link she forwarded to today’s Guardian reminds me again how urgent these issues are.

Sophie outlines the impact the possible cuts to the Independent living fund would have on her and her career. As she says in her letter to David Cameron, as yet unanswered ‘It is not my impairment which makes me vulnerable. It is your cuts. It is your policies.’

  It is sobering reading. It is essential reading. Please go to:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2013/feb/26/independent-living-fund-cuts-disabilities

2 responses to “To David Cameron: ‘It’s not my impairment which makes me vulnerable. It is your cuts. It is your policies.’

  1. Kate, I ad the good fortune to attend your workshop in Sheffield. Hope you can return. I agree entirely with these sentiments as the draconian cuts placed on the most vulnerable members of our community.

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting – it’s appreciated.
      Every day seems to bring news of further cuts and it seems important to share links, to talk, to take action and help make the ‘invisible’ visible and the actual impact these so called reforms will make on those most effected (as opposed to some independently wealthy Tory boy politician).

Leave a Reply

