One hundred and fifty ‘rules’ for writing fiction: 111 – 114

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

More thoughts from those who have done it on how to do it….

111.)  A short story must have single mood and every sentence must build towards it.  (Edgar Allan Poe).

112). Do change your mind. Good ideas are often murdered by better ones. I was working on a novel about a band called the Partitions. Then I decided to call them the Commitments. (Roddy Doyle).

113). For one thousand nights, before you sleep: Read one short story a night. Read one poem a night. Read one essay a night, from very diverse fields: politics, philosophy, religion, biology, anthropology, psychology, and so on. At the end of the one-thousand nights you’ll be full of stuff! All this stuff will be bouncing around in your head, and you’ll be able to come up with lots of new ideas. (Ray Bradbury).

114). Never worry about the commercial possibilities of a project. That stuff is for agents and editors to fret over – or not. Conversation with my American publisher. Me: “I’m writing a book so boring, of such limited commercial appeal, that if you publish it, it will probably cost you your job.” Publisher: “That’s exactly what makes me want to stay in my job.” (Geoff Dyer).

2 responses to “One hundred and fifty ‘rules’ for writing fiction: 111 – 114

  1. A short story must have single mood and every sentence must build towards it. (Edgar Allan Poe).

    This is what I’m working on when it comes to my writing style.

    I’m trying to improve my editing process so that I cut away the excess and stick closely to the story telling.

Leave a Reply

