One hundred ‘rules’ for writing fiction: 87-91.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Five more pieces of advice collected from interviews with writers of fiction.

87.  A writer’s past is the most important thing he has. Sometimes an object, a mask, a ticket stub, anything at all, helps me remember a whole experience, and out of that may come an idea for a story. (Ray Bradbury).

88. Never ride a bike with the brakes on. If something is proving too difficult, give up and do something else. Try to live without resort to per­severance. But writing is all about ­perseverance. You’ve got to stick at it. In my 30s I used to go to the gym even though I hated it. The purpose of ­going to the gym was to postpone the day when I would stop going. That’s what writing is to me: a way of ­postponing the day when I won’t do it any more, the day when I will sink into a depression so profound it will be indistinguishable from perfect bliss. (Geoff Dyer).

89.  Do spend a few minutes a day working on the cover biog – “He divides his time between Kabul and Tierra del Fuego.” But then get back to work. (Roddy Doyle).

90.  Write what you need to write, not what is currently popular or what you think will sell. (P.D. James).

91. Write. No amount of self-inflicted misery, altered states, black pullovers or being publicly obnoxious will ever add up to your being a writer. Writers write. On you go. (A.L. Kennedy).

4 responses to “One hundred ‘rules’ for writing fiction: 87-91.

  1. The book I’m writing currently at my blog has a strong tie to my past, namely the setting. Many of the characters also relate to prior relationships I’ve made throughout the course of my life. Using events from ones own life can prove to be the best writing material. Can’t wait to read the previous 86, thanks for this!

  2. Great advice (especially #91).

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Writing and Publishing | booksfromthelaundryroom

Leave a Reply

