The significance of character names: Things I wish I’d known when starting out (6)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Names of characters are important. Shakespeare may have claimed a rose by any other name would smell as sweet, but think of the added information that seeps through from knowing the character is called StJohn or Jerzey; Jonah or Jezebel; Shiraz or Shona, Sankaran or Steve. A sense of cultural heritage, class, social aspiration and period can be assumed through personal monikers.

Names are signifiers and they carry significance; more often than not they are a tip to the audience. It is not by chance that Ben Johnson’s protagonist in his Jacobean satire of lust and greed is called Volpone – Italian for ‘sly fox’.

Names can allude to character and disposition in an efficient, almost effortless way. Traditionally protagonists or heroes have big, heroic-sounding names – Lysander and Titania, Hermione and Ulysses. There is an underlying assumption of what a tragic or inspirational protagonist should be called – an assumption subverted to comedy effect by Monty Python in  The Life of Brian.

I feel that giving a character a name is a significant moment for the writer in the process. I run various mentoring schemes where I accompany writers along their process of writing, from initial idea to polished draft. I try to be descriptive not prescriptive in approach, as there are many different approaches and processes and this is an area where one style most certainly does not fit all.

Some writers arrive with a name of a character as a starting point, and work outwards from there, guided by a sense of the individual’s personal traits, politics, guiding principles, almost as if they exist in reality and the writer personally knows them. Others, like me, may not have a name until well into the process. I sometimes have letters or numbers – 1, 2, 3, 4 – chosen simply by the order in which these emerging figures arrived on the page. When I find these numeric names limiting and annoying, snagging on my eye each time I read over the page, I know I have moved onto the next phase of development.

Naming characters always come swiftly. If I stumble between options, or dither, going eeny-meeny-miney-mo, I realise I don’t know enough yet about the character, or s/he is not yet sufficiently drawn to merit a title.

I can truthfully say I have never regretted a name I’ve given to a character, but that act of choosing has a galvanising effect on the way I engage with the character on the page, impacting on the words I put in her mouth, or the actions I give him.

I’m not sentimental about my work, so I never see them as my creatures or (god forbid) some kind of golem offspring – they are vehicles for my thoughts, or ideas I want to explore – but calling something brings it forth into being.

Name it, and it is.

copyright Kaite O’Reilly 6/3/12

2 responses to “The significance of character names: Things I wish I’d known when starting out (6)

  1. melanie_unabridged

    Reblogged this on Becoming Author and commented:
    This is a great post on naming characters. I too spend a good sum of time and energy trying to come up with perfect names for my characters. I really like the way in which Kaite O’Reilly words this discussion. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

